One time I went to an evening worship service where the speaker did something unusual. He stated that we shouldn’t always expect to hear a sermon when we come to church meetings and proceed to open the meeting to praises and testimonies. Different people shared powerful experiences or meaningful verses and songs. Sometime during the meeting the speaker mentioned that when he would read Ellen White’s writings, he would write down his favorite sentences in the back of the books. I don’t remember anything specific from that meeting, but the idea of saving one-liners seemed positive to me, and that idea has been in the back of my mind since then.

A one-liner is different than a whole paragraph. Though it may be enhanced by the surrounding material, it can stand alone; it contains a complete thought. One line can sometimes have the spiritual impact that many entire paragraphs or chapters do.

I enjoy reading my friends’ blog posts, but sometimes their blog post is a mini sermon and I choose to skim over it. I like sermons and spiritual posts, but I like to read blogs because there is a personal element to it. I like to read about my friends’ interests and experiences. I want to know what is important to them. Sometimes spiritual blog posts lose that personal element, and if those posts are more than a couple paragraphs I usually skim the post unless that topic is extremely relevant to me at that time. Am I the only one that does this?

With that said, I probably have been guilty of what I just wrote about (I wonder if I would’ve read my own blog posts). I want to tie this back to one-liners. I  want to start writing more on spiritual topics, but I want to keep those posts short. I can do this by sharing one-liners! One of my successful summer projects was reading the book Patriarchs and Prophets. I had previously started that book twice, but never finished it. This summer I finally read the whole thing cover to cover. I tried to remember to save some one-liners when I read through, and I want to do that for every book of hers that I read. Here’s a one-liner from one of her other books,

“Only by love is love awakened.” – Desire of Ages, p. 22.

What are your favorite one-liners? Do you read all of your friends’ blog posts?

